Sign Up Now!

Free Teacher Tools, Online Samples, VIP Prices & Offers…
  • This will become your username.

At Flying Start Books we believe literacy is the key to success in life, so we’re passionate about giving children a flying start by launching them into literacy. This core belief is at the heart of our Red Rocket Readers Series.

Developed by New Zealand reading specialist and author Pam Holden, this exciting, award-winning reading program offers more than 500 illustrated fiction and photographic non-fiction titles at graded levels.

Recently we have extended our range to include an exciting new series, The Joy Cowley Club, by the much-loved author of perennial favorite, Mrs Wishy-Washy. (USA and Canada only). These delightful books for beginning readers features lovable new characters to charm and captivate children and teachers alike.

Both Red Rocket Readers and The Joy Cowley Club are high-quality leveled text collections, perfect for Guided Reading, Reading Recovery, ESL, ELL and other Special Needs applications. In all, more than 550 leveled readers currently available with regular new releases. Read more…

The Numbers:

Red Rocket Readers
Fiction & Non-Fiction Titles
Joy Cowley
Leveled Readers & Plays
iPad Compatible
eBook Editions

Running Records
Free to Download
Free to Download
FREE Samples
to View Online