Joy Cowley Joins the Club!

Sarah EnsorNews

Flying Start Books is delighted to announce that we have been appointed distributor for two exciting new series of Joy Cowley titles in the USA and Canada.

Big Bear and Little Bear and Miss Doll and Friends are published under The Joy Cowley Club banner, and each include 15 quirky 8-page leveled texts plus Big Books, eBook Editions and Audio support.

The Joy Cowley Plays are a unique collection of 10 shared reading texts for ages 6-9.

Joy Cowley is one of New Zealand’s most prolific and successful writers of children’s books. She has written more than 600 titles for all ages and her books are available in most countries where English is a first or second language.

Perhaps best known in education for her work in early literacy, Joy Cowley’s books can be found in 75% of schools in the USA. She is the author of the much-loved Mrs Wishy Washy series.

Written specifically for children with reading difficulties, the Mrs. Wishy-Washy stories use the “rhyme, rhythm, and repetition” style of learning. This has been exceptionally effective in helping early readers learn to phonetically sound out words, resulting in increased vocabulary and excitement towards reading.

In 2006, the National Institute for Early Education Research cited Mrs. Wishy-Washy as a quality learning material, and used it as an example of the importance of early literacy in young children. In addition, named the original book as one of the “10 Best Books to Read with your Toddler”.



Miss Doll and Big Bear and Little Bear

These two new series of leveled readers introduce delightful new characters and are equally ideal for guided reading, reading recovery and remedial programs, including ELL, ESL and other special needs.


About the author:

Sarah Ensor

Rocket Scientist | Flying Start Books

Like what we've got to say? Spread the word!