Step 1: Foundation Stage

Rachel WalkerPrint Awareness, Tips for Parents, News

Around age 5, children enter school and begin receiving formal literacy instruction. They continue to make rapid growth in literacy skills if they are exposed to literacy-rich environments (Burns, Griffin,
& Snow, 1999).

  • Will look at books and enjoys being read to
  • Notices letters and words around them
  • Begins to understand that print carries a message
  • Writes their own name and can recognise it
  • Plays at reading – holding books and turning pages pretending to read
  • Enjoys learning about letters and words from books, games, songs and nursery rhymes
  • Looks at pictures and makes up stories
  • Uses memory and pictures to retell a story
  • Learns letter names and letter sounds – starting with their own
  • Learns how books work where a story starts and ends and which way the print progresses.
  • Understands the concept of a letter and a word

Read on to learn more about each stage:

Step 2: Emergent Reading Stage

Step 3: Early Reader Stage

Step 4: Fluent Reader Stage

Step 5: Advanced Fluency Stage

About the Author:

Rachel Walker

Publishing Director | Flying Start Books

Like what we've got to say? Spread the word!